5 Things I Love About Christmas

The other day I overheard someone in a coffee shop bewilderedly gasp “It’s only five more Monday’s ’til Christmas!”, which got me thinking about Britain’s favourite time of the year. I can already hear some of you moaning “but Christmas is still a month away!”. Yes, Christmas is still a month away, I hear you loud and clear. But when you’re sat in your uni halls room, dreaming of your mum’s delicious Christmas dinner and watching Christmas films under a blanket, you kind of want Christmas to arrive on a sleigh to take you home already. Besides, when your flatmates trim up the kitchen and blare Christmas songs, you can’t help but join in. If that hasn’t convinced you yet then bah humbug! to you! So to all of you Festive-At-Heart’s, this one’s for you.

 

5.Christmas Decorations Festive decorations

Hanging up tinsel, decorating the tree, switching on your Christmas lights; they’re all things that get me in the festive spirit. However it’s not just the trimmings at home I enjoy. I am guilty for spending a lot of time (and money in that case) at coffee shops, so going to your favourite coffee shop, where artificial snow, fairy lights and seasonal colours represent the excitement of Christmas (plus a limited edition gingerbread latte) is basically heaven. Christmas shopping is much more exciting and cheerful – a well deserved break from walking around in circles from shop to shop trying to find Christmas presents making you want to scream “ahh!” into a stranger’s face. (Please tell me I’m not the only one).

 

4.  Mince pies

Mince Pies I’m always baffled as to why I have been crazy over mince pies and Christmas pudding for the past few years. Perhaps it’s because it’s only seasonal, therefore it makes it more special. Either way, nothing beats a good, warm mince-pie with cream, or hot Christmas pudding with custard. I’m guilty of consuming a lot of mince pies recently. I don’t even want to think about it, essays complement comfort food, okay? A lot of people tend to not be a fan of these festive treats which I find ridiculous because of how delicious I think they are. More for me I guess, so it’s a win win (kind of).

 

Christmas Tree3. The fresh scent of a real christmas tree

About six or so years ago, my parents decided to rid our tiresome fake Christmas tree (of what they called, the Toilet Brush) in replacement of a real Christmas tree, and since then, we have never gone back to the ‘Toilet Brush’. Stepping from the chilly bite of December into the oddly satisfying, sauna-like heat of your home after a long day isn’t even the best bit of being home. Because when you are greeted by the warmth, it’s not just the heat that you’re engulfed by. It’s the green pine needles that becomes your new house scent, complemented by cinnamon from Christmas decorations. Mmmm, the real scent of Christmas.

 

2. Christmas films Christmas Films

You know it’s Christmas when your favourites; Elf, Santa Clause, The Grinch and The Polar Express, take over almost every TV channel. Spending the night in with your family, curled up on the sofa, watching Christmas Films with a cuppa and a box of chocolates- obligatory Christmas treats, hurrah! If sitting and watching a film with your loved ones doesn’t happen often (like mine), Christmas is the time for it to happen.

 

Christmas Dinner1. Christmas dinner with the family

That’s right, you’ve guessed it. How could anyone resist home cooked Christmas dinner; spending quality time with your family? I know I fall into Britain’s most favourite Christmas tradition, how generic of me, I know. But what would Christmas be without seasonal favourites, such as succulent turkey, crispy roasters, herb infused stuffing, and the best of course, cranberry sauce? Nothing. Christmas would be NOTHING. Although every year we are still nagged to eat the sprouts we roll on our plates with our fork, picking to eat everything first like that one sports team player that is always left when neither team wants them. (Ouch, blame movies for that analogy). Nevertheless, coming together as a family, creating special memories over this joyous celebration is the best thing about Christmas for me.

So there you have it, my top 5 ‘Things I Love About Christmas” – what a treat! What’s your favourite Christmas ‘things’? Comment below!

Images: Google Images (Not my own images)
8 thoughts on “5 Things I Love About Christmas

Leave a Reply

