Putting a Spring in Your Step this Season

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

So it’s come to that time of year again, where we’re thinking about our holidays, sunbathing by the pool or a beach, and keeping our fingers (and toes) crossed that the British weather will be kind to us this summer. I say it’s come to that time of year again, as it happens in January too – spurs of motivation to get fit, whether it’s for the new year, or to reach your dream beach bod for your holiday. The snapchats, the hashtags and the grimace that forms on your face when you force yourself to order a caesar salad over a burger. Yep, I’m guilty too.

So in light of this, I’m going to show you my favourite athleisure must-haves and essentials that I keep inside my gym bag this season…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Sportswear

I’m not incredibly fussy when it comes to sportswear, however I am always drawn to brightly coloured and patterned details when it comes to choosing my workout clothes. I tend to go for something that I feel comfortable in, both literally and physically. Both of the black gym bottoms I purchased from New Look, and the green coloured one is 3/4 length, and blue detailed one is full length – always nice to have a bit of variety.

Although I love patterns, I tend to keep it to one patterned item at a time. For example, patterned leggings, and a plain top, or a patterned top, and plain leggings. If you want to check out some patterned sportswear, check out Adore Me‘s collection, and if you’ve not got the time to mix and match patterned outfits, they even have patterned althleisure sets! The only choosing you’ll have to do is deciding which weights you’re going to lift this session!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Footwear

Footwear is one of the most important things to consider when searching for your gym gear – they need to be flexible, comfortable and supporting, especially if you’re going to be doing a lot of cardio or running exercises. I have always been partial to Nike trainers, just because I know I am guaranteed all of these three things. I live in my Nike Flyknit Roshes, as they are not only the most comfortable shoes I own at the gym, they are also my favourite driving shoes! I would suggest investing in a good pair of trainers if you’re thinking of starting the gym or exercise, as it’s not only important to be comfortable, but if you exercise in flimsy (or the opposite – too hard) shoes, you can result in injuries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gym-Bag-Essentials

One thing I cannot go to the gym without is music. Once my headphones go in and I press the play button, I am instantly in the zone. Even on those sluggish days. Keep going till the end of the chorus… you’ve got this far, might as well smash this set until the end of the song. Music is my mini PT (Personal Trainer) cheering me on. Perhaps try this type of motivation if you’ve not challenged yourself before, or find it hard to motivate yourself during a set. You’ll be surprised at how you actually can finish the set if you put your mind to it.

Another gym bag essential I always bring with me is my padlock. The gym I use, padlocks are the only way you can use a locker, so this is an absolute must!

Towels are an essential, whether it’s a sweat towel to carry around with me in between sets, or an actual body towel for my post-workout shower (my favourite bit!).

Water. If you don’t drink during or after a gym session, then shame on you! Losing sweat at the gym, it is vital that you put back the water you have lost from your body to avoid becoming dehydrated and feeling lethargic. Depending on how much cardio I perform, I usually tend to drink 1 litre of water per gym session.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA          Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Photography by Charlotte Jackson and Rachel Jefferies

Olympus Pen E-PL8, 45mm

4 thoughts on “Putting a Spring in Your Step this Season

  1. Super cute athleisure outfit! Thanks for sharing; you have great content and I’m looking forward to future posts.
Come visit if you get a chance!
    Have a good day!
Mena from noirerewritten.com 🌷

    Like

Leave a Reply

